#### All-Silicon Quantum Computer

Phys. Rev. Lett. Vol. 89, 017901(2002)

Kohei M. Itoh

Dept. Applied Physics, Keio University

kitoh@appi.keio.ac.jp

January 20, 2003 University of New South Wales

Itoh, Keio University

# Contents

- 1. Introduction
- 2. Isotope Engineering of semiconductors
- 3. All-Silicon Quantum Computer
- 4. Experimental situations
  - MBE growth of silicon isotopes
  - Micro-magnet fabrication
- 5. Summary









Figures of merits 1. Scalable # of qubits (n) $\rightarrow 2^n$ states						
<b>2</b> . Large # of	total operatio	$n \equiv \frac{\text{Phase deco}}{\text{Switch}}$	$\frac{\text{Phase decoherence time } T_2}{\text{Switching time } t_s}$			
qubit	T <sub>2</sub> (sec)	$t_s$ (sec)	# of operation			
Electronic state	$10^{-9}$	$10^{-13}$	10 4			
Electronic spin	$10^{-6}$	$10^{-10}$	10 4			
Ion state	10 -1	$10^{-14}$	10 13			
			107			









Isolated impurity

Low temperature electrons allow

measurement via

nuclear-electron coupling is proposed

Well-separated

impurities have long decoherence times

initialization

by gates Single-spin

nuclei provide qubits

interactions controlled







LISU OI	stable isotopes			
<sup>28</sup> Si 9	92.2%	<sup>69</sup> Ga	60.1%	→ 3/2
<sup>29</sup> Si	4.7% → 1/2	<sup>71</sup> Ga	39.9%	<b>→</b> 3/2
<sup>30</sup> Si	3.1% <sup>(nuclear spin)</sup>	75 🗛 -	100%	(nuclear spi
70	20.5%	~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~	100%	$\rightarrow 3/2$
72 C e				
72Ge		Nuclear spin control		
<sup>/3</sup> Ge	$/.8\% \rightarrow 9/2$	throug	Nuclear spin control through manipulation of stable isotopes	
<sup>74</sup> Ge	36.5%	st		
<sup>72</sup> Ge <sup>73</sup> Ge <sup>74</sup> Ge <sup>76</sup> Ge	27.4% 7.8% $\rightarrow 9/2$ 36.5% 7.8%	Nucl throug st		





# Elimination of background spins













### Initialization

















































#### Collaborators

Eisuke Abe (Keio University) Takeharu Sekiguchi (Keio University) Ryusuke Nebashi (Keio University) Yoshinori Matsumoto (Keio University) Hideo Ohno (Tohoku University) Yuzo Ohno (Tohoku University) Susumu Sasaki (Nigata University) Yoshhisa Yamamoto (Stanford University) Thaddeus Ladd (Stanford University) Jonathan Goldman (Stanford University)